All or Nothing

It is no secret I struggled mightily with math from elementary school through college. When I finished my degree, I burned my math book on my husband’s grill. But a wise – and math-savvy – friend helped me to approach math a little differently. I said that one reason math frustrates me is that there is only one right answer, you can’t just get the principle like you can in say, theology, and you can’t “get close,” you are either right or you’re wrong. She told me that in life, there is only one right answer – and that answer is Jesus. You either get Jesus or you are lost. Oh, I still hate math, but that put it in a different perspective for me.
And it is the absolute truth. Jesus declared, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me” (Jn 14:6). Peter reiterated Jesus’ words when he proclaimed before the Sanhedrin, “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12). There is no other way to God and His mercy and grace but through His Son. It is Jesus or nothing.
But when you say “Yes” to Jesus – you get everything. Look back at His statement in John 14:6. With Jesus you get life because He is The Life. You get truth because He is The Truth. You get direction because He is The Way. But wait – there’s more! You get light because He is the light of the world and “the true Light that gives light to every man” (Jn 8:12; 1:9). You get nourishment for your soul because He is the Bread of Life and Living Water (Jn 6: 48; 4:14). You get everlasting life because He is The Resurrection (Jn 11:25). You get peace – His peace (Jn 14:27). You get Joy – His Joy (Jn 15:11). You get hope that serves as “an anchor for the soul, firm and secure” (Heb 6:19). And best of all, you get great, lavish (1 Jn 3:1), perfect (4:18), unfailing, unshakable love (Is 54:10), because He is the conduit of God’s love to all the world (Jn 3:16).
So what will be? All or nothing? Beloved, with all my heart, I implore you to chose Jesus today. He is the only right answer.

Leave a comment