I Can’t Get No Satisfaction

Worried woman and shopping bags

“Why spend money on what is not bread and your labor on what does not satisfy?” Isaiah 55:2

“If I only had a boyfriend, I would be so happy.”  “If I were married, I would finally be content.”  “Oh, if I could have a baby, my life would be perfect.”  “Lord, I don’t need a mansion, but if I could just have a home of my own, I’d be satisfied.”  Ever said one of these, or something similar? I’ve said all of them – and guess what – they didn’t deliver what I thought they would.  The boyfriend was a jerk, the marriage turned sour, the baby cried. All. The. Time.  And the house ended up in foreclosure.

Our key verse is part of God’s call to the nation of Judah to leave behind all the things that had failed them and come to the only sure thing that could satisfy – Himself.  They had wearied themselves trying to gain wealth and power, position and pleasure – but still their lives were empty.  The harder they tried to create a satisfying and fulfilled life, they further they got from it.

Does that ring any bells for you?  It sure does for me.  I’ve known moments of what I thought were satisfaction or joy or peace, but they were only temporary and soon I was looking to the next thing/person for what was missing in my life.  But the truth is that I was not looking for what I needed, but for what I wanted.  And my wants changed with the next commercial, the newest pair of shoes or the next hunger pang.

Beloved, what are you relying on for satisfaction?    Or maybe the better question is what is it you want?  Wealth?  Status?  Food?  Ministry?  Perfection?  People? Acceptance?  None of these will fill that void inside you.  It is only when you and I look to God to fill our wants that we gain a satisfaction that is eternal and unshakable. There is no need to look for the next thing, because there is nothing more satisfying than Him.

Leave a Reply

