Amazing Grace

fail_math“We have depended on God’s grace, not on our own human wisdom” 2 Corinthians 1:12.
Grace – unmerited favor, a gift undeserved but desperately needed.
I failed my algebra test this week – made a 46. Since returning to work a couple of months ago, I’ve been struggling to keep up with my schoolwork. Mind you, I’m no different than any other working student, but the strain is showing up most in my Algebra class, my absolute worst subject. I was a day late , which means an automatic deduction in points. I panicked out of exhaustion and couldn’t process what I had worked so hard to learn and ran out of time, thus the 46. But when I checked my email, my instructor had noticed the test was late and without me asking, granted me 2 extra days. I thanked her and explained about the struggle I’m having juggling work and school, especially this course, and I told her that I had failed the test. She wrote me back to say I had a second chance to take the test and she was confident I would do better. Grace.
If you are a Christian, you know about God’s grace to you through the cross of Christ. You know that you are saved by faith through grace, not anything you have done or earned. At least I hope you do. But so many of us live like grace ends at salvation and our lives are one big God-test that we are failing. We wear ourselves out trying to accomplish all we believe God requires of us and come skidding into church out of breath from trying to keep up with it all. And we fail. And in doing so, we pile more condemnation and guilt on ourselves. But God’s grace extends beyond salvation; His grace is a daily, undeserved gift as He says, “Come on child, you’ve got a second chance, a fresh start. I am confident you will do better today.” My friend, God’s grace is sufficient for salvation and for every day of your life, for every failure and misstep, and for a lifetime of do-overs, given freely and lavishly. Do you need a second chance today? Beloved, you’re covered in grace.

2 thoughts on “Amazing Grace

Leave a Reply

