Hearing Voices

bud-flower-drops-close-upForget the former things; do not dwell on the past.  See I am doing a new thing! (Isaiah 43:18,19)

I hear voices every day. I’ll bet you do too. No, we’re not crazy; those voices are from the past, from other’s opinions and judgments of us. And they tend to weigh heavily on us long after we’ve grown up. I was the klutzy, clueless, dumb kid growing up. I was teased terribly in school (try growing up with the name Dorcas Beegle and see if you don’t get razed day in and day out). I was reminded continually that I was not the pretty one or the smart one. I went through most of my life gathering up all those voices then every morning I hit play and rehearsed all the things that people said about me. My self-esteem was in the pit. I gave up before I ever tried because of the words stored up in my head. I’ve always wanted to write, but someone once said I had nothing of value to say. I longed to go to college, but other voices said I was too dumb. I dreamed of being in ministry but didn’t pursue it because the recordings said I was a failure. I lived out what I heard others say throughout my life.

Until God said differently.

God began a long process of healing and re-writing my sense of who I was. He reminded me that I was created in His image, which meant I had value and intelligence. He patiently recorded over those old tapes and pulled those long-lost dreams of writing and college and ministry back to the surface. He put words in my mind and told me to write. He put me on the path to seminary and He and I have maintained a 4.0 average for three years now. And He opened doors to a ministry of teaching and mentoring. Now I am living out what God says about me.

Beloved, no voice from your past truly determines your life. You are who God says you are. His opinion is the only one that matters. What is He saying to your heart today?

8 thoughts on “Hearing Voices

  1. Amen to today’s message! We all let what people have said to us growing up influence our lives today. Fortunately I had parents who made me feel special; that I could amount to something. Such a strong influence on me as an adult!

  2. Great post, and how true !! I am reminded of what Paul penned in…

    Ephesians 3:20… Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, (NKJV)

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

Leave a Reply

