God-Positioning System

gps-iconLast week I needed to drive from my home to Birmingham, Alabama to pick up my husband at the airport.  I also had to pick up my son from work on the way.  Both required me to drive on I-20 East.  I headed to my normal exit – blocked.  Okay, I went to the next exit – blocked.  Hmmm.  Drove to a third exit – blocked again.  We’ve only lived here a year and I rarely drive far from home, so I had no idea where another exit was.  My GPS was stubbornly trying to get me back to the blocked exits and I could not convince her to find another route.  At this point a touch of panic began to set in and without thinking I muttered “O Lord, what am I gonna do?”  Then I realized what I had said and turned my lament into a prayer:  “Lord, what do I need to do here?”  The GPS suddenly told me to turn right and I noticed that the road I was on was running parallel to I-20 and in just a few miles I came to another exit – just past the big wreck that had closed the interstate.  I breathed a prayer of thanks as I got onto the open exit and headed in the right direction.

I immediately thought about Isaiah 30:21 which says “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.’” 

We often get in a panic trying to determine God’s will because we think it’s up to us to find it.  But that is the enemy trying to overwhelm and confuse you.  God has a definite plan for your life.  He does not expect you to blindly stumble along in the hopes that you’ll happen upon it by chance.  Not only does He have the route mapped out, He will guide you each step of the way – but often only one step at a time, and often not the direct route you expect.  If you’re wondering where you’re supposed to be, don’t panic, just ask the Lord, “What do I need to do here?” and follow exactly where he leads.  You’ll never be lost if you’re following God.

Leave a Reply

