Advent 2015 – Day 16 – The ABC’s of JOY

adventcandlesweek3“The Lord has done great things for us and we are filled with joy” (Psalm 126:3).

What great thing has God done for you?  Have you thought about His “showers of blessings” lately?  When my heart becomes a little bit sour or I am sad and weary, I sit down with paper and pencil and go through my ABC’s.

A – God led us to a wonderful Apartment in our new hometown.

B – The Bible – God’s Holy Word and my passion and calling.

CCoffee (do I hear an Amen?).  And Christ my Savior. And our new church home.

DDonald, my sweet husband of 30 years.

EEndurance – especially when it’s finals week.

F – Many, many friends – one of the greatest treasures here on earth!

GGrace from God.

I won’t go through the whole alphabet, but I think you get my point.  One sure way to find joy when you are joyless is to “count your many blessings,”  because joy and gratitude are two sides of the same coin.

Perhaps you have endured an extremely difficult season of heartache, grief, disappointment, or bad news.  These certainly make it difficult to be thankful and joyful.  Still I have no doubt that somewhere between A and Z there are blessings you can grab onto to restore a measure of joy to your heart.

The Bible continually calls us to remember and rejoice in God our Savior.  If you woke up this morning, you already have at least one reason to be thankful and joyful.  I invite you today to go back to school and practice your ABC’s.  Reflect on the great things that God has done for you and be filled with JOY!

One thought on “Advent 2015 – Day 16 – The ABC’s of JOY

Leave a Reply

