A Place of Peace and Safety

“You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.”

Psalm 32:7

 For as long as I can recall, even from childhood, I have been searching for a protector.  It seemed that the ones who were in a position to protect me ended up being the ones who hurt me, or just left me vulnerable and alone.  I wanted to know someone heard my fears and would “take up my cause.”  Through my adult years, I’ve more or less learned how to fend for myself.  But still, there is this ache to know that I can let my guard down for just a little while because someone is watching out for me.

So this morning, when I read this verse, it touched that vulnerable place deep in my heart.  I do have a protector.  It is my Heavenly Father.  When my weary heart cries out: “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest” (Psalm 36:7), I know that He will be my hiding place and I can “take refuge in the shadow of [His] wings” (Psalm 57:1). Nothing can touch me there, no foe can reach me, and no disaster can overtake me because [He] will protect me from trouble.

That is the sweetest word I have heard in a long time.  I am tired, my mind, body and spirit are weary.  My Father knows that and bids me come to that protected hiding place and to “lie down and sleep in peace, for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety” (Psalm 4:8). I do not have to climb high mountains or walk through burning deserts to reach my safe place.  I only have to cry out to Him and He will “come quickly to help me” (Psalm 22:19). Then I am to take refuge and rest; to lie down and sleep in peace, knowing that He is on guard, ever vigilant, with His wing tucked securely around me.

There is no greater refuge than this.  There is no greater peace than this.

Are you weary?  Do you also need a protector?  Have all the “safe places” of the world failed you?  Friend, seek the only place of true safety and peace.  Come and find rest in the shadow of His wing.  Let Him “quiet you with His love” (Zephaniah 3:17). Fall asleep amid the sound of Him “rejoicing over you with singing” (Zeph. 3:17).

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” Psalm 91:1

 Holy Father, I take refuge under Your wings; cover me with Your feathers, let me rest in the wonderful knowledge that Your faithfulness is my shield.  Oh how I need You. Amen

7 thoughts on “A Place of Peace and Safety

    • No doubt my precious friend, life is hard, life is unfair, but as you always tell me, this world is not our home. Perfection awaits us, we just need to hold onto God and one another. I love you.

  1. Your blog reminded me of the song, “Under His Wings,” which has been a favorite of mine for many years. It’s an old hymn written in 1896 but the words are so appropriate for what you’ve written The words were written by William O. Cushing and the melody by Ira D. Sankey. It’s not in either the UM Hymnal or the Cokesbury. Hopefully you can find it online. If you can’t find it let me know and I’ll send it to you.

    • Oh, Jean, those lyrics are so beautiful, thank you for sharing that song. I have really come to love this image of being sound asleep, safely tucked under His wing like a baby chick nestled close to his mama. Thanks my friend!

      • I was touched by this lesson. I too get weary. The song I thought of when rewding this was Lord I need you, every hour I need you! Thank you, zBeth for writing this.

Leave a Reply

