The Hope of Home

“In my Father’s house are many rooms…I am going there to prepare a place for you…that you may be where I am.” (John 14:2,3)

There’s something special about home, especially at Christmas.  In WWII, teary-eyed soldiers in Europe sang, “I’ll be home for Christmas”[1] as they sat in muddy foxholes.  College dorm buildings become ghost towns as students head for home and family for the holidays.  At Christmas, we long to be with those we love the most.  We long for home.   And for Christians, that longing for home extends beyond this earth to our heavenly home.

I am so grateful for God’s faithfulness to keep His promises, especially the promise of an eternal home.  There was a season in my life when, through a series of set-backs, our family lost our home.  The kindness of a friend kept a roof over our heads, but it was the hope I have in God’s promise that kept me going as I continually reminded myself: “This world is not my home. Jesus is building a mansion for me in heaven.”  Jesus’ words in John 14:2-3 were my hope:  In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.”

This home exceeds anything the greatest architect could ever design.  It is grander than the finest castles and mansions in the world.  Hebrews 11:10 tells us that its “architect and builder is God.”  Our minds cannot imagine the beauty and immensity and wonder of this eternal, heavenly home.   Listen to these descriptions from Revelation 21 – “It shone with the glory of God, and its brilliance was like that of a very precious jewel, it had a great, high wall, with twelve gates…each gate made of a single pearl. The great street of the city was of pure gold, like transparent glass.  The glory of God give it light and the Lamb is its lamp” (vs. 11, 12, 21, 23) And this precious promise: “Nothing impure will ever enter it” (v. 27).  Loved ones will be there, waiting to welcome us and show us all that God had prepared for us.  I will see my mom again.  The “great cloud of witnesses” that surrounded us and cheered us on will be there – Moses, Abraham, Paul, Mary, David, and a lady I really want to meet, Dorcas.  We will see flowers unknown on earth, we will enjoy the fruit from the tree of life, and drink from the river of life that flows from the throne of God and of the Lamb. (Rev. 22:1-2) And don’t forget this precious promise “There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain” (Rev. 21:4)

But the best part of our heavenly home is that we will forever live with our Heavenly Father and blessed Savior.  Listen to the words of the angel: “The throne of God and of the Lamb will be in the city, and His servant will serve Him.  They will see His face…” (Rev. 22:3-4a-emphasis added).  That is hope for Christmas and every day.

Holy Father, This world is not my home.  My heart longs to be at home with You, with Jesus, and with the saints of all the ages.  Fill me with the hope that You have a place for me and I will never, ever be away from home again.  Amen.

 


 

[1]  “I’ll be Home for Christmas” Walter Kent, Kim Gannon, Buck Ram

Leave a Reply

