I Did It My Way

“I desire to do Your will, O my God; Your law is within my heart.  Psalm 40:7

 So who’s really in charge here?

 Since the days of Adam and Eve, man has challenged the authority of God. God says this, but man wants to do that.  God commands, and man rebels.  Sometimes we stomp our feet and say “NO!” like a petulant child. But most often, our rebellion is more subtle.

 Israel’s first king, Saul, is the perfect example of someone who thought he could do God’s will – his own way.  In 1 Samuel 13, God commanded Saul to destroy the wicked and evil Amalekites, long-time enemies of the Israelites.  God’s specific command was to “totally destroy everything that belongs to them… ”(v. 3) Saul and his army set out to do as God commanded, but verse 9 tells us “Saul and the army spared Agag (the king) and the best of the [livestock] – everything that was good.”

 When the prophet Samuel met up with him, He asked why Saul didn’t obey the Lord’s command.  Saul’s reply was “The soldiers brought the…best of the sheep and cattle to sacrifice to the Lord, but we totally destroyed the rest.” (v. 15) In essence, Saul was saying “But I did obey the Lord” (v.20)– I just did it my way.

 Have you ever thought “Well I know God said He wants me to do this, but I know He won’t mind if I do it in my own way. It will be just as good.”  As if we dare say to Him, “I know what you said, but I have a better idea.”?  Pay attention to Samuel’s reply to Saul, “Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the Lord?  To obey is better than sacrifice.” (v. 22) 

God wants our full obedience and He has the authority to require it of us. When God speaks, He expects us to obey. Completely. Immediately. Anything less is disobedience.

Who’s in charge here? It is a question you must settle in your heart, then commit to total obedience – God’s way.

 Holy Father, You are truly the LORD – the Sovereign and Righteous King.  You are God and You are worthy of obedience.  Please turn my heart to always seek to do Your will Your way in Your time.  Amen.

Go Deeper: 1 Samuel 15:1-23

Leave a Reply

