Lessons from the Master Crafter

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.”        Ecclesiastes 3:11

God is the perfect crafter.  We see that when we look around us.  Nature attests to His awesome creative talent, with azure blue skies, majestic mountains, stunning sunsets, colorful birds, brilliant fall leaves, and the beautiful and fragrant flowers.  Wouldn’t you love to see His artist’s palette with all those wonderful colors?

God is also busy crafting the lives of those who love Him.  He is adding light here and shadow there, a splash of joy, broad strokes of wonder, and accents of peace amid dark shades of sorrow and heartache.  All in perfect balance and harmony.  All to create a masterpiece with your life and mine.

Let me offer a memory-lesson from God that might help.  Years ago (when I had more time and better eyesight) I was an avid cross-stitcher.  One day, as I was working on an intricate design-a mixture of dark and light colors and metallics-I needed to finish off a row of stitching, so I flipped the fabric over, and saw the reverse side of my work.  It was a mess of knots and tangles and threads crossing from side to side, looking nothing like the picture that was forming on top.

That is when the Holy Spirit revealed a precious truth to me, which I have kept tucked in my heart since: My life is like that cross-stitch picture.  While I only see the bottom of the fabric, with all my imperfections, sorrows, hurts and questions, God is working on the top, and He sees the beautiful picture He is creating from the master design He has planned.  Where I see tangles and knots, and wonder why there are so many dark colors – God sees light contrasting against dark and how brilliantly the gold and silver threads of His majesty and glory stand out against the dark places in my life. And isn’t that the purpose of my life-to make much of God, to glorify Him and show His beauty to the dark world?

From the Old Testament account of Job’s life comes this lament, “My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle, they come to an end without hope” (Job 7:6).  His words brought to mind a poem my Mother shared with me many years ago:

THE WEAVER

My life is but a weaving, between my God and me,
I do not choose the colors, He worketh steadily.

Ofttimes He weaveth sorrow, and I in foolish pride
Forget He sees the upper, and I the underside.
Not till the loom is silent, and the shuttles cease to fly,
Will God unroll the canvas, and explain the reasons why
The dark threads are as needful in the skillful weaver’s hand
As threads of gold and silver in the pattern He has planned.

Anonymous

If I could take Job by the hand, I would tell him, as I tell myself and you, that when God is the Weaver, there is always hope.   That season we see as darkness and struggle and pain, in the hands of the Master Weaver, could prove to be the richest season in our lives.  God is working the pattern of your life and of mine according to His will – “His good, pleasing and perfect will” (Romans 12:2). Will we trust the design of our lives to the hands of the Perfect Crafter?

 

Master Creator, You have spoken a word to my heart: “Child, if you only knew – the pattern I am using as I craft your life is the image of My Perfect Son. Trust Me beloved.”

One thought on “Lessons from the Master Crafter

Leave a Reply

