What Are You Worth?

“God bought you with a high price.” (1 Corinthians 6:20)

“God paid a high price for you.” (1 Corinthians 7:23)

“Sometimes I just feel so worthless.” I wrote in my prayer journal one day.  It was one of those days where everything seemed to go wrong.  And I thought that the something wrong must surely be me.  The frustrations and stress of the day had combined to create a black cloud of depression and emptiness in my heart.  And when Satan finds any void in our hearts, he aims right for that tender spot.

 Ever notice that when we begin to feel down on ourselves, it doesn’t take long for those emotions to grow in intensity and overtake us. The enemy counts on that.   I was feeling beat-up emotionally that day, and the fists were my own.  I had allowed the enemy to use me against myself

You and I are not the first to find ourselves battling feelings of inadequacy and self-doubt.  Feelings of worthlessness have long been one of Satan’s favorite weapons, because it is so effective.  When something is deemed worthless it is useless, futile, meaningless, an empty waste.  If you have ever thought yourself worthless, or worse, had someone call you worthless, you know it is hard to stop that endless tape of self-condemnation from playing repeatedly in your mind.

God doesn’t call us worthless.  On the contrary, He has placed a very high value on us.  He revealed this truth to me during a visit to a beachside souvenir shop. My husband and I were wandering through this little shop and he picked up one of the seashell items. After looking at the price, he commented, “They must really like their stuff. They’ve priced it so they could keep it.”

God spoke so tenderly to my heart at that moment.  I realized that it is not the merchant that places value on an item. Rather the buyer decides if it is worth the price.  If the price is too high, the buyer will walk away.  God willingly paid the highest price for you and me, the life of His one and only precious Son, Jesus Christ.  God decided that we are worth the price.  That makes us very valuable, don’t you think?

Jesus’ parable in Matthew 13:44-46 describes the value and worth God sees in us. “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.  Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls.  When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

We are that treasure.  We are that pearl of great price.

Because God created us and loves us, He places tremendous value upon us.  We are not worthy of His love or the price He paid to redeem us, but He does not consider us worthless.  The next time Satan attacks with his words of condemnation, telling you that you are worthless, remember that Paul says we are “God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved.” (Colossians 3:12), and John declares that we are “greatly loved children of God” (1 John 3:1). Remember that God has given His Son for you.

Worthless? Not according to the One who paid it all for you.

Holy Father, You gave Your perfect Son to redeem my life.  Such lavish love for a sinner like me.  When the enemy tries to tell me that I am nothing, please remind me that you gave everything for me.  Amen

Leave a Reply

