A New Thing

A new thing. A new adventure. A new obedience.
As I sit here watching the cursor blink over the empty page before me, I am making a new step of faith. This is a little intimidating for me, but still very exciting.
God pointed me in this direction over a year ago, but it has taken me a little while to follow through; and thanks to my college friend, Hannah Ostrus, I am all set to do what God has called me to do.
“Write…all the words I have spoken to you.” Jeremiah 30:2

God’s Word is my passion. Teaching and writing about God’s Word is my purpose.
Eight years ago, in the midst of a very trying season, God spoke to my heart. He asked me a question: “Child, who am I?” “You’re God.” I replied. “Who else could You be?” He answered, “Yes child, I am God, yet there is so much more to Me than you realize. I want you to know Me, then tell others about Me.” Know God? How can I know the Indescribable? God is far too big to fit into my finite little mind. But He had spoken to me, and His words were very clear.

Not many days later, I came across a Scripture that has become my life verse.
It is Jeremiah 29:13, which says “You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.” I knew that this would be a life-long search, but I had His promise in the very next verse – “I will be found by you…” (Jeremiah 29:14a)
Through the ups and downs of the years that followed, I have come to know God in amazing and wonderful ways, yet I haven’t even scratched the surface of who He is.

Incredible, isn’t it? God wants you and me to know Him. He has said so over and over again in Scripture. He sent His Son Jesus to reveal Himself to us. He gave us the Bible so we could know Him through His Words. Even the world that surrounds us was designed to draw us to Him. (see Romans 1:19-20)
God is real. He is everything He says He is and more than we can ever fathom.
He is not hidden – He wants us to know Him…so much so that He pursues us and draws us into a love relationship with Him, a relationship that will last for eternity.

This blog is my new step of obedience; it is God doing a new thing through the pages of an ancient, yet still living and powerful Word. Will you join me on this journey of seeking to know Him?

4 thoughts on “A New Thing

  1. Yeah! So excited for you. Blogging is a great thing. I have had a blog for the last few years. It has been so great to get my words and thoughts about my Christian journey in print. I pray that my words and experiences may help even one person. I know that yours will do the say. Go check out my blog. (mewalkingfaithfully.blogspot.com) Yet another things we have in common on our path to the Kingdom! Love you.

  2. Beth, I am so proud of you for taking this step. God will reward your step of faith along with taking you on a journey of faith with Him. I look forward to reading many more messages that He has placed on your heart to share!

  3. Beth, your testimony is so powerful and will be used by God through this blog. Follow where He is leading you and your journey will be blessed and be a blessing to others. Pat Chorey

Leave a Reply

